About Kiwanis Club of Memphis

Who we are

We’re a diverse group of people who believe we can change our community and the world for the better. Yep, that’s a pretty bold statement. It’s true, though. We make a difference by mentoring and supporting children today who will one day pick up where we leave off—as leaders, professionals, caregivers, friends, neighbors, and compassionate global citizens.

Kiwanis also invests in our members. We get together weekly to listen to speakers from all walks of life. We network and share information and resources in a laid-back, friendly environment. And we make life-long friends. 

What we do

Provide kids with experiences

Sponsor kids to attend summer camp 

Lead a reading program at a local school

Send kids to the AutoZone Liberty Bowl

Meet kids’ needs

Help provide meals for school children

Fund and build wheelchair ramps for kids

Contribute to neonatal tetanus shots 

Invest in kids

Provide Key Club scholarships for high school seniors

Help improve and maintain local playgrounds and recreation areas

Sponsor a golf tournament that includes Special Olympics athletes

When and where to find us

Every Wednesday at noon at the University Club of Memphis
1346 Central Avenue
Memphis, TN 38104

Who leads us

The Kiwanis Club of Memphis is governed by elected officers and a board of directors. Here are the current officers and directors.

Executive Director

Beth Haag

Club Officers 2023–2024

Ham Smythe


Immediate Past President
Estella Mayhue-Greer

Vice President
Harry Pratt

Steven Guinn

Recording Secretary
Melanie Blakeney

Board of Directors

Reginald Alexander
Calvin Anderson
Walker Bradshaw
Sam Cantor
John Colton
Bob Dawkins

Gregory Dotson
Grady Frisby
Joey Hagan
Janice Holder
Carissa Hussong

Joseph Koury
Dale Smith
John Lawrence
Kimberly Rice
Chuck Strong

Kiwanis Kudos

Meet some of our members and local heroes who’ve gone above and beyond.

T.G. Kirkpatrick Kiwanian of the Year Award winners

2022 winner
Joey Hagan

2021 winner
Justice Janice Holder

Bryce Haugsdahl Annual First Responders Awards—2022 recipients

Officer C. J. Jones,
Memphis Police Department

Deputy Antonio Hudson,
Shelby County Sheriff’s Department

Lieutenant Timothy Austin,
Memphis Fire Department

Keep up with Kiwanis

Service projects. Guest speakers. Networking. And more. Check out our Kiwanis newsletters to see what we’ve been up to—and what you can take part in.

Back to top